Just a short post today for any Mac fans out there who have recently updated to macOS Sierra and found that they have some ‘phantom’ software updates – the badge on the App Store icon shows a number (in my case 6) but there are no updates to run when you open App Store.

When faced with an issue like this I always find the main challenge to be “what do I Google to find other people who have a solution to this?”.  I tried “macOS updates not showing” and it led me to this solution.

As luck would have it, someone else had posted a solution about 2 days ago.

The ‘solution’ that worked for me was to run ‘Disk Utility’ and run First Aid on the Start up disk and then to go to App Store again and voilà the updates appeared.  Top of the list for me was 10.12.1 which I just ran.  My Mac ran the update and re-booted and now all the other updates (mostly iWork and iLife) are there waiting.

Hope this helps someone else 🙂

Leave a Reply

