It’s a long weekend here in Australia, the Anzac long weekend.  This morning was the dawn service and from my house at about 5.30 am this morning I could hear singing drifting up from the service at Dee Why.

According to reports I read there were approximately 12,000 people in attendance.

anzacds

I joined in the singing from my bedroom window, especially when the song became Advance Australia Fair… except for the second verse, I must admit I don’t really know the words, like many Australians apparently.

It was quite moving listening to the signing in the still of the morning with the only other sound the sound of the waves from Dee Why beach.

Now as I sit here this afternoon writing this blog I am listening to Led Zeppelin’s The Song Remains the Same… and it occurred to me that the nature of war has changed dramatically over the years since the (in)famous battle at what is now known as Anzac Cove in Turkey.

In World War I young men and women ‘headed the call’ to go far away to fight a war on the other side of the world and ‘do their bit’ for their country.  Wars were fought in places that are now the locations of famous battles… from World War I and World War II.  Now the battle grounds are the theatres in the middle east, Irak, Afghanistan and also in the cities of Europe: Paris, Brussels and also around the world: New York.

The Song Remains the Same… but it has also changed from what it was.  Will the dawn service or the Anzac march through the streets of Sydney in years to come commemorate the sacrifices made by innocent men and women at streets, markets, cafes, theatres, train stations and other scenes of life?

Lest we forget

Leave a Reply

