The Blogging101 experience has been wonderful and I have learnt heaps but now its time to settle back into the real world.

I really don’t think I can blog each day, not reliably anyway.  At the same time I dont want to lose the spontinaity of blogging whenever I feel like it.

That leads me to a line from one of my favourite James Bond films…

Mr. Wint: The scorpion.

Mr. Kidd: One of nature’s finest killers, Mr. Wint.

Mr. Wint: One is never too old to learn from a master, Mr. Kidd.

Diamonds Are Forever (1971)

 

What’s that all got to do with learning from a master?  Well, one of my favourite blogs for a long time is Half-Elf on Tech – Tales from the Support Rogue.  The ‘half elf’ is Ariela Epstein, better known as Ipstenu, and IMO she really is a master blogger.

One of the things I learnt from Ipstenu is that even the greatest bloggers need a ‘routine’ – her’s is to blog on Mondays-Wednesdays-Fridays.

As a reader, I crave more, but I fully understand the need to set a pattern and stick to it.

Without fail, Ipstenu blogs 3 days a week and I have come to rely on receiving Half-Efl on Tech goodness in my WordPress in-box on Tuesdays-Thursdays-Saturdays due to the time difference between her world and mine.

So I resolve to blog on Sundays, to start with.  Why Sundays – well its a day of rest and for me blogging is very relaxing, especially with a nice cold glass of bier in my hand 😀

3 thoughts on “Taking a tip from a Master

  1. Well, here it is Saturday evening and I see your post already that you will post on Sunday. Not all that early either, drinking can’t start too soon in the day. Now I decided to post on Mondays at 20:16 UTC. I will let WordPress post it at the appropriate second. I can finish it anytime prior, within the limits set by being a procrastinator …

    Like

  2. For the most part, I do all my posts M-W-F and then one on either Saturday or Sunday. But I always allow myself to hit post on a different day if I feel like it. Sometimes I’ll just schedule my post for a day om my ‘schedule’ but sometimes I want it posted that day. Eh, it’s my blog so I do what I want lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

