I love learning stuff, so much so I would say it qualifies as a goal in itself.  Most of the time I actually want to do something (useful?) with what I learn but that’s not always the case.  Reminds me of a few lines from a favourite song…

“Didn’t make sense not to live for fun, your brain gets smart but your head gets dumb, so much to do, so much to see…”

All Star by Smash Mouth

Well, no more!  2016 is the year for “focussed learning” (as opposed to learning for fun).  This year I am going to “start with the end in mind” and learn what I need to do to get there.

This is going to be hard for me, I’ve never been good at setting goals and making and following a plan to achieve those goals, I am more of a “go with the flow of the universe” type of person 🙂

Doing this Blogging101 course is actually part of my “focussed learning” plan.  My goal is to become more confident and better at blogging because I see it as a necessary tool to the sorts of things I want to do in the future.

I also recently completed an Introduction to JavaScript course over at SitePoint.com (formerly called Learnable.com).  It’s my favourite place for learning new tech stuff.

I think my “focussed learning” activity will take up quite a few of my blogs over the next few months.  If you want to follow along tap into the blogs for the “learning” category.

2 thoughts on “Focussed learning

  1. Woo hoo, another first (for me), commenting on my own blog entry 🙂

    Just taking the opportunity to “think out loud” and give an example of “focussed learning” thinking in action.

    Today I attended a WP Water cooler webinar (see ttps://plus.google.com/events/cdb5kllgvfugtc9ib9k9dl7gkag) about learning JavaScript. The style of the webinar was an interactive panel style discussion with some of the (as far as I know) gurus in the WordPress space.

    During the flow of the webinar, the host/moderator asked the panel members for their lists of tech’s to learn this year – amongst them was SASS (see http://sass-lang.com)

    Immediately I thought, I have to learn that! Another voice, deeper inside me said “what about focussed learning? what do you need to learn that for?”

    So far I don’t have an answer but I am working on it… and the cons are greater than the pros Con: I don’t actually write a lot of CSS in the web work that I do Pro: … but maybe I will in the future?!??

    I will keep you posted 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

